Print | Email Rugby team for Maccabiah

Maccabi GB announce names

by: Ben Simons - Last updated: 2008-10-24

Maccabi GB has revealed details of the rugby team it will be sending to Israel during summer 2009 as part of Team GB for the 18th Maccabiah Games.

The team will be jointly managed by Jonathan Seltzer and Jon Tyler and will be coached by Welsh National 7's coach Richard Hodges and assisted by Hertfordshire County coach Nick Mortimer.

According to Seltzer, the squad included 11 players from the last Maccabiah, one of whom, Haydn Hertz, also played in 1993 and it also contains full-time professional Aaron Liffchak of London Welsh who has obtained permission from his club to play in the Maccabiah.

In 2005, the team came 4th and in 2009 are hoping to better this.

The squad in full:

Ben Allin, Jonathan Brasse, Sam Castle, Benjamin Chamberlain, Andrew Cooke, Neal Fetterman, Jonathan Fienberg, Mike Filson, Simon Filson, Matthew Frankfurt, Andrew Gillman, Haydn Hertz, Jonathan Jacobs, Samuel Katz, Ryan Kaye, Aaron Liffchak, Dean Miller, Jake Norman, Mark Pettit, Aaron Radley, Samuel Rhodes, Robert Seltzer, Nathan Taylor, Guy Tyler, Saul Zulman.

Related Links